Running….

I know I said my aim this year was to run 10k, but soon after January that started to seem unrealistic maybe and my friend put me down for 5k race for life and I actually got on better than I thought. Still time to do 10k before the year’s out??

We did it! Race for Life

Firstly I’d like to say a massive thank you to everyone who helped me achieve this. To Alex who signed me up for the run in the first place and those other individuals who went running with me, who listened to me whine about my sore legs (and even better gave them a rub down), who made me do their gym work outs and especially to that certain someone who was there for the last uphill struggle 🙂 couldn’t have done it without you.

As someone who’s never really been interested in sports (never in my life have I won a medal or a trophy… until now) I had no idea how I’d get on with the 5k challenge Race for Life at Savile Park in Halifax. But last Sunday was judgement day for both myself and school friend Alex who first signed us up for the race all those months ago. Spurred on by the generosity and amazing £388 we’d raised I was determined to do myself proud – as well as everyone who has been kind enough to sponsor me!

There is no doubt that the Race for Life events set up by Cancer Research across the UK are great opportunities for individuals to really challenge themselves for a worthwhile cause. Although I had set myself a target to run the whole 5K, Race for Life itself is not competitive and it’s not about being fast or fit. It’s more about local women from all walks of life coming together in their community to make a positive difference to everyone affected by cancer.

With shocking statistics such as the fact that every two minutes someone in the UK is told they have cancer, they need all the support they can get and to find out how everyone involved in Race for Life has helped Cancer Research UK make some fantastic progress in beating cancer over the last 17 years click here.

So in the end the training paid off I managed to run all the way round completing Race for Life in 31 minutes and 40 seconds.

Race for Life HalifaxThank you once again to everyone who supported and sponsored both myself and Alex, especially to everyone at Playrite and Heckmondwike FB. And for those who didn’t get the chance it’s not too late to show your support – click here to sponsor.

Leave a Reply

