Day-tripping

Summer is all about day-trips and in the UK if we’re lucky enough to get a sunny weekend it’s time to hot foot it to the beach, garden centre, stately home, and nearest attraction.

This time it was my choice of location and I suggested an old university haunt, Trentham Gardens where I graduated in 2009. Even before graduation day the shops, cafes, garden centre and beautiful gardens was a popular attraction and location for picnics, shopping trips and afternoons out. And then theres the monkey park but that’s a day trip in itself and a visit has been reserved for another time…

20120806-211637.jpg

The gardens are just as beautiful as I remembered, with lots to keep families entertained with the adventure playground, barefoot walk and maze but my new favourite has to be the sensory gardens. Every section had something different to see, smell, touch and experience. Another thing I loved as a marketer is the intergration with social media, logos for Twitter, Facebook, QR codes to scan for more information and signs asking you to ‘Check in’, which of course I did.

20120806-212109.jpg

Also because the sun was shining and time was on our side for the first time I got to do the full walk around the woods and the lake which was well worth it, with lots to see including interesting information, sculptures and I managed to catch a glimpse of a heron by the lake.

20120806-212911.jpg

I love all the independent, quirky shops, tea rooms and different places to eat and couldn’t resist having my photo taken with my new friend.

20120806-213905.jpg

After spending the whole day at Trentham it was time for dinner at another favourite old haunt in Salt
The Holybush Inn. Sadly it isn’t the season for mussels but they had pecan pie on the menu which is a definite favourite of mine. I hope I don’t leave it as long this time before I return!

Leave a Reply

